Throwback Thursday: Kenny Anderson


act_kenny_anderson

Ask anyone, especially a New Yorker, and they’ll tell you New York City is the Mecca of Hoops.

When I think of New York City basketball, I think of point guards. When I think about New York City point guards, there’s one that shines like Rhianna’s forehead…Kenny Anderson.

Most young people know him as the ex-husband of Basketball Wives brawler, Tami Roman. But those of us who go back with this bball thing, know Anderson as a Point God.

My pops was/is a hoops junkie, so he’d read about all of these great players from around the country. When a great player would play on tv, we’d sit and he’d have me watch that player. His style, his mannerisms, and most importantly his game.

One particular night, we sat to watch Georgia Tech vs Duke. Top 10 match-up and he wanted me to watch a skinny, left-handed kid from New York named Kenny Anderson. Pops said he was the best point guard in the country and I should pay close attention to him and how he runs the show.

Anderson didn’t disappoint. He finished with 19 points, 11 assists, 8 rebounds and only 3 turnovers in a 96-91 loss. But there was one play, one move that had me and pops screaming like idiots….

Yeah, watch it again….I’ll wait…….

I spent the next week trying to recreate that move for my boys at school. If only we had YouTube back then.

Anderson became must see tv for me. Every time Tech was on, I was watching and learning how to play the point guard position. He, along with Dennis Scott and Brian Oliver, formed Lethal Weapon 3 and took Tech to the Final Four, where they ran into eventual champion UNLV.

He turned pro after his sophomore season and was the #2 pick in the 1991 draft behind Grandmama Larry Johnson. He remained one of my favorite players throughout his 14 year NBA career.

He never became the superstar I hoped he would be, making only 1 all-star team. But anybody who has over 10,000 career points and over 5000 assists had a pretty damn good career.

So we leave you with a Kenny Anderson vid….watch, learn, and enjoy.

– N.D. Face

About N.D. Face

Blogger and lover of ALL things related to and about the game of basketball.

One thought on “Throwback Thursday: Kenny Anderson

  1. Pingback: Throwback Thursday: Run T.M.C. | TRAGIC JOHNSON

Have any thoughts? Feel free to share with us...

