Nike Unveils 2013 Hyperdunks


13_290_Nike_IA_HyperD_Group_2-01_large

When I hoop, I don’t just hoop in any shoe I can find. I’m extremely selective in choosing my footwear. And with the price of kicks these days, you’ve got to make sure you make a sound investment.

The last pair of kicks I bought were the 2012 Hyperdunks and I’m loving these shoes. Super lightweight, excellent fit, with great cushioning from the Lunarlon soles. If I could change anything, I’d add some extra heel cushioning, but I love playing in these shoes.

So I was excited as all hell to see the 2013 version of this shoe. According to Nikeinc.com, the show will be dropping globally July 20th. Just in time for all of the summer leagues and AAU ball.

Here’s more info and pics from Nikeinc.com:

Now in its new 2013 edition, the Nike Hyperdunk continues to evolve. Designed by Peter Fogg, a trailblazing Nike footwear designer, the Hyperdunk lives up to his impeccable reputation for design. Over the past two decades, Fogg has created some of the brand’s most coveted shoes for running and All Conditions Gear (ACG), including the Nike Air Zoom Tallac, Nike Air Terra Humara, Nike Zoom Terra Sertig, Nike Ashiko and Nike Structure Triax.

“Although basketball shoe design has greatly transformed over nearly a century, it’s the small, crafted details that make a noticeable difference on the court,” said Fogg. “The Nike Hyperdunk 2013 moves intuitively with the foot, while the tailored tweaks we’ve made lead to an incredibly lightweight, breathable and durable shoe for both indoor and outdoor play.”

From the sole to the upper, the Nike Hyperdunk 2013 builds on its minimalist aesthetic with three of basketball’s most transformative technologies: Dynamic Flywire, Hyperfuse construction and Lunarlon cushioning. The lightweight fit and feel of this iteration set a new standard, while the lockdown support, intuitive stability and advanced herringbone traction are based on insight from the world’s top basketball players including All-Star Point Guard, Kyrie Irving.  

“When I first put the new Hyperdunks on, I didn’t want to take them off,” said Irving. “The performance was great and I feel like the shoe’s versatility benefits my game.” 

Continuing with the less-is-more design mantra set by Avar five years ago, Nike Basketball will continue to blaze new trails in performance basketball design as Fogg’s new Nike Hyperdunk design evolves the shoe’s bold legacy.

Based on these pics, I like the look, but that’s secondary when I’m choosing a shoe to hoop in. I’m looking for a great fit and feel on the court.

I can’t wait to test the shoe out and see if there’s any improvements on the amazing 2012 model.

13_290_Nike_IA_HyperD_Group_1-02_large 13_290_Nike_IA_HyperD_Detail_1-03_large

13_290_Nike_IA_HyperD_Detail_2-01_largeHeel-Angle_Comp_large

– N.D. Face

About N.D. Face

Blogger and lover of ALL things related to and about the game of basketball.

Have any thoughts? Feel free to share with us...

